Home > The Team > Pascale Cornut St-Pierre

Pascale Cornut St-Pierre

Associate Members

Email: pascale.cornutst-pierre@uottawa.ca

Pascale Cornut St-Pierre is assistant professor at the Civil Law Section of the Faculty of Law of University of Ottawa. She joined the Perelman Centre for Legal Philosophy in 2018 as an Associate Member. Her research focuses on the ways in which business communities perceive, mobilize and develop the law in the course of their activities. Her works deal mainly with corporate and financial law, but draw heavily on research from the social sciences, such as sociology of law, economic sociology, political economy and critical studies.

Professor Cornut St-Pierre holds a B.A. (2007) and a M.A. (2009) in philosophy from the Université de Montréal, as well as an integrated degree in civil law and common law from McGill University (B.C.L./LL.B., 2013). She completed her Ph.D. at Sciences Po Law School in Paris in 2017. Her dissertation, under the supervision of Professor Benoit Frydman, is about the role of legal work in contemporary financial innovation. She analyses the role and techniques of standard-form contracts, like the ISDA Master Agreement, in the emergence of new financial instruments and the development of their global markets.

At the University of Ottawa, Professor Cornut St-Pierre teaches mainly corporate law, financial law and sociology of law. She previously was a lecturer in sociology of law and in advanced civil law obligations, at Sciences Po Paris and at the Faculty of Law of McGill University.

editorial board coordinator:

Centre Perelman de Philosophie du Droit de l’Université libre de Bruxelles
CP 132 - Av. F. D. Roosevelt 50 - 1050 Bruxelles
Tel. 02/650 38 84 - Fax 02/650 40 07 - e-mail

Accueil > L’équipe > Pascale Cornut St-Pierre

Pascale Cornut St-Pierre

Les membres associés

Courriel : pascale.cornutst-pierre@uottawa.ca

Pascale Cornut St-Pierre est professeure adjointe à la Section de droit civil de la Faculté de droit de l’Université d’Ottawa. Elle s’est jointe au Centre Perelman de philosophie du droit en 2018 à titre de membre associée. Dans ses recherches, elle s’intéresse aux façons dont les milieux d’affaires perçoivent, mobilisent et développent le droit dans leurs domaines d’activités. Ses travaux, qui touchent principalement au droit des affaires, au droit de l’entreprise, au droit financier ainsi qu’à l’impact de la globalisation économique sur le droit, puisent abondamment dans les recherches menées dans les disciplines des sciences sociales, telles la sociologie du droit, la sociologie économique, l’économie politique et les théories critiques.

Titulaire d’un baccalauréat (2007) et d’une maîtrise (2009) en philosophie de l’Université de Montréal, ainsi que d’un baccalauréat intégré en droit civil et common law de l’Université McGill (2013), elle a obtenu son doctorat de l’École de droit de Sciences Po, à Paris, en 2017. Sa thèse de doctorat, rédigée sous la direction du professeur Benoit Frydman, porte sur le rôle du travail juridique dans l’innovation financière contemporaine et met en évidence le rôle crucial des juristes dans l’émergence d’un marché global pour les swaps et les autres instruments dérivés de gré à gré.

À l’Université d’Ottawa, la professeure Cornut St-Pierre enseigne principalement le droit de l’entreprise, le droit financier et la sociologie du droit. Elle a auparavant enseigné la sociologie du droit au Collège universitaire de Sciences Po, à Paris, ainsi que le droit civil avancé des obligations à la Faculté de droit de l’Université McGill.

Responsable du comité éditorial :

Centre Perelman de Philosophie du Droit de l’Université libre de Bruxelles
CP 132 - Av. F. D. Roosevelt 50 - 1050 Bruxelles
Tel. 02/650 38 84 - Fax 02/650 40 07 - e-mail